top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichaela R.

Pardon my French: My Weekend in Paris!

Updated: Mar 26, 2019

A few weeks ago some friends from my program and I flew to Paris and had the best time! Paris is only an hour away from Milan by plane, and plane tickets were very inexpensive. This trip was basically a no brainer.


My plane arrived in Paris on a Thursday night and I met up with my friend Alanna who had been in Paris for the whole day at our hotel. I had a very interesting Uber ride to my hotel especially since my driver didn't speak a lick of English. He dropped me off at a destination (not my hotel) and signaled with his hands the direction in which I should walk to get there #confusion. Given that it was midnight and I was in a foreign city, I was kind of frustrated that I had to lug my suitcase around alone. I was really shook at first, but I ended up using google maps to find my hotel. While I was walking, I simply took in the city and the vibrant nightlife. It was like a breathe of fresh air, until I witnessed this man leaning up against a building and peeing...

“Paris is always a good idea.”- Audrey Hepburn

Once I made it to my hotel everything went uphill from there. The next day, we met up with two other friends and visited all the touristy locations and more. The weather was great, and it was just an awesome weekend filled with laughter and great memories. #YOLO


Why Eiffel For Paris

Not only is the French language very smooth and sensual, the people there are so beautiful! I was not expecting the city to be so diverse, so it was very refreshing to see black people all over the city. Coming from Milan, which has sprinkles of black people from the African diaspora here and there, it was almost like a cultural shock being in Paris. The city was very #Live in the daytime and at night and in areas that weren't very touristy. There was a plaza by our hotel where numerous locals would hang out with their families and friends. This plaza had a lot going on. There were teenagers skateboarding, large groups of boys playing soccer, little kids riding their bikes, and elderly couples relaxing and enjoying the view. There were also large protests held at this plaza throughout the weekend.

We managed to visit the Eiffel tower (of course), the Louvre Museum, the Arc de Triomphe, the Palace of Versailles, and the Laudree macaroon shop. Every site we saw was breathtaking, and I honestly can't believe I was there to experience it. There are a lot of interesting things to do in Paris and the people there definitely made the experience worthwhile. I don't think we had a dull moment: from us finding a bar/restaurant in which we were approached by a "magician" who set his wallet on fire to my friend getting her first tattoo at a shop down the street from our hotel. We were really just enjoying every moment and experiencing #PureComedy. Overall I had a wonderful time in Paris and I definitely plan on visiting again.


 


23 views0 comments
bottom of page