top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichaela R.

Getting Lost in Mikonos: Celebrating my 21st in Greece!

Updated: May 8, 2019

This past week I was literally living my best life in Mikonos with some friends in my program. I went with eleven other people to Mikonos, and we rented this amazing villa that had a beautiful view of the island. This villa had 8 bedrooms, 6 bathrooms, two kitchens, two pools, and 4 outdoor patio areas. It was unreal! Since there were 12 of us staying there, the cost of the place wasn't very expensive at all. We even received cleaning services everyday. #HowBougie




Since my birthday took place during our Spring Break, it was the perfect time to travel somewhere fun to celebrate. As a group we all left Milan to go to Mikonos Tuesday the 23rd, and we stayed until Saturday the 27th. That Tuesday I almost missed my flight because I overslept. I wanted to be at the airport by 9:30 am, but I didn't wake up until 9:20 am. Man, I leaped out of bed and got ready so fast! I honestly didn't think I was going to make it. But the Lord showed me favored that day. I literally made it to my gate while the last group of people were boarding the plane. When we all got to the island we had a van service take us to our villa which was at the top of a very steep hill. The car ride there was insane! We all felt like we were on a roller coaster. That day we all just chilled at the villa, and later we went to this fancy restaurant for dinner.

“Why not go out on a limb? That's where the fruit is.”- Mark Twain

The next day we had a chef service come to the villa to prepare brunch and dinner for us which was so nice! We also planned a fancy all white party for dinner. The chefs made lamb which is pretty popular in Greece and pastitsio, a Greek pasta. After dinner, my friend Alanna arranged for the chefs to bring me a birthday cake, and everyone sang happy birthday to me which made me feel so special. After dinner we all turned up, took pictures, and danced. It was definitely a night to remember.


Living it Up on Tropicana Beach


Thursday was such an entertaining day. I honestly don't know how we managed to survive. When we woke up, Alanna, Yobi, and I were determined to explore the city. We took a taxi into town and rented two ATV's for 25 euros each which we could keep for 24 hours. We were super excited! #YOLO The way the roads were set up in Greece made the ATVs very easy to drive especially since so many other people were driving them on the roads. Once we left the ATV place, we google mapped our way to Tropicana Beach which had a large resort and lots of bars and clubs. As soon as we walked into the establishment the host spots us immediately and practically drags us on stage to dance #BlackGirlMagic. So we complied lol. Alanna really wanted to eat so we found a table and ordered gyros and drinks.


Our friends from the Villa found us and told us to go to the opposite side of the beach where everyone else was. Now this side of the beach is where the party was! There were college students everywhere just turning up and having a good time, so we were like okay this is where we need to be. What really had us shook was the fact that the DJ was black, and he was playing all the throwback jams! We had so much fun. I think we stayed at this beach from 3:30pm to 9pm.



Driving ATVs in the Dark... No Wonder We Got Lost


Once we realized how dark it was, we were like okay it's time to leave. Me and Yobi were on one ATV and Alanna on the other. I was driving while Yobi gave me directions. Once we left the Tropicana Beach area, it was pitch black outside! The only light we had was the headlights on the bikes. Not only was it dark, but the roads were so hilly and twisted it was scary. So I'm pushing the pedal to the medal because I just wanted to get home. Turns out the directions we were following led us 20 minutes into the opposite direction of the villa. We were literally in the middle of no where on the top of a very steep hill. So we re-route using only my phone because Yobi's and Alanna's phones are dead. We get to an area close to the villa but reach a dead end! We literally could have fallen off a cliff if we weren't careful.

So we're contacting everyone at the villa so they could send us their location or guide us in the right direction. As soon as I share our location with them, my phone dies... and we're all like WTF... So Yobi starts freaking out, and I try to calm her down. Next we just start trying different roads to see if they'll lead us in the right direction, but we keep approaching dead ends. Finally we go down a road and see two of our friends from the villa who came out on their ATVs to find us. We were so relieved... We finally made it to our villa, but we were so shaken up #NeverAgain

The next day we drove our ATVs around the city in the day time and explored different parts of the city. We made it back to the villa, and we relaxed for the rest of the day. We were so sad to leave Saturday because we had so much fun together. I honestly can't wait until I go back.


 



24 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page